2011 Summer Programme



Tuesday 5th July

12:00 - 12:30

Arrival and Registration

12:30 – 13:25


13:25 – 13:30

MSDG’s Chairperson’s welcome

13:30 – 15:25

Technical Session 1


(Chairperson : Professor Peter Licence)

13:30 – 14:00

Qing Huang1, Xianbo Jin1 and George Z. Chen1,2

1 College of Chemistry and Molecular Sciences, Wuhan University

2 Department of Chemical and Environmental Engineering, and Energy and Sustainability Research Division, University of Nottingham

Interactions of CO2 and MEA in hydroxylated ionic liquids

14:00 – 14:30

Ali Kamali, Carsten Schwandt and Derek Fray

Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy, University of Cambridge, UK.

The electrolytic preparation of carbon nanostructures in molten salts

14:30 – 15:00

Robert Watson

AWE, Aldermaston, UK.

Electrochemical adventures in CaCl2

15:00 – 15:25

Moira Lewis, Paul Nancarrow, Quan Gan and Lizhe Liang
School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Queen's University, Belfast.

Predicting and Designing the Properties of Ionic Liquids


15:25 – 16:00

Tea/coffee break & poster session


16:00 – 17:30

Technical Session 2


(Chairperson : Dr Kevin Murnaghan)

16:00 – 16:25

Manabu Tokushige

Institutt for Materialteknologi, NTNU, Sem Salands vei 12, Trondheim, Norway, NO-7491

Nanoparticle Size Control by Plasma-Induced Cathodic Discharge Electrolysis using Rotating Disk Anode

16:25 – 16:50

Peter L. Licence

University of Nottingham, Nottingham, UK.

XPS as a probe of solvent-solvent and solvent-solute interactions in ionic liquids

16:50 – 17:20

Trevor Griffiths

Redston Consulting Ltd., Leeds, LS17 8RF, uk.

A Description, History and Anecdotes concerning the Oak Ridge National Laboratory Molten Fluoride Reactor - and does it have a future?

17:20 – 17:30

MyRSC presentation

17:30 – 18:00

MSDG Committee Meeting

18:00 – 19:00

Drinks reception

19:00 – 20:00

Banquet in Walter Grave Room

After Dinner Lecture

(Chairperson : Dr Stuart Mucklejohn)


Professor Doug Inman

Imperial College, London, UK.

My life in ionic liquids, from one lab to another




Wednesday 6th July


08:00 – 09:00

Breakfast (for residential attendees only)

09:00 – 09:35

Invited Lecture


(Chairperson : Professor Derek Fray}


Professor L P N Rebelo

Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica, Portugal

Stretching ionic liquids to the limit

09:35 – 10:35

Technical Session 3


(Chairperson : Dr Robert Watson)

09:35 – 10:05

Mohd Azri Ab Rani, J. Hallet, P. Lickiss, T. Welton

Chemistry Department, Imperial College, London, SW7 2AZ, UK.

Synthesis, Characterization and Physical-Chemical Properties of Room Temperature Ionic Liquids (RTILs) With Siloxane Containing Cations

10:05 – 10:35

Geir Martin Haarberg

Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway

Electrodeposition of titanium from molten chloride electrolytes by using titanium oxycarbide anodes

10:35 – 11:05

Tea/coffee break and poster session

11:05 – 12:30

Technical Session 4


(Chairperson : Professor George Chen)

11:05 – 11:35

Eimutis Juzeliunas, Antony Cox and Derek Fray

Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy, University of Cambridge.

Black silicon from Molten Salts

11:35 – 12:05

Simon Puttick and Peter Licence

University of Nottingham, Nottingham, UK.

NMR as a Probe of Nanostructure in Ionic Liquids

12:05 - 12:30

Kevin Murnaghan

Henkel Ireland, Dublin, Republic of Ireland.

Ionic Liquids in Industry: Processable, Functional & Task-Specific

12:30 -13:30


13:30 – 14:00

Free discussion and networking


Close of meeting


Download PDF version with abstracts HERE